The Water Commission is made of three Commissioners – one appointed by the president of the Cook County Board, and one each appointed by the respective presidents of Willow Springs and Justice. Each term is six years.

Krzysztof Wasowicz, Chairman

Krzysztof Wasowicz is serving his second term as Mayor of the Village of Justice. He joined the Water Commission in 2010. He has lived in Justice since 1987 and works as a realtor throughout the area. When he isn’t working,  Krzysztof enjoys fishing, hunting and snowmobiling, and is Vice President of the Polish Shooting and Hunting Club Hubertus. A native of Poland, he and his wife have two sons. 

Michael Porfirio, Treasurer

Michael Porfirio was appointed to the Water Commission by Cook County President Toni Preckwinkle in 2012. Michael, a lifelong resident of Bridgeview, has served in active duty for the U.S. Navy since 2004, most recently in Afghanistan, and is currently a Lieutenant Commander in the U.S. Navy Reserve. He earned a Master’s Degree in political science from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Ind., and prior to that graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy. He received his MBA from the University of Illinois-Chicago.

Mary Jane Mannella, Commissioner

Mary Jane Mannella was appointed to the Water Commission by Willow Springs Village President John Carpino in 2017. Previously a Village Trustee for 8 years, she currently serves as the Village Clerk. Her family has lived in Willow Springs since 1950, and her daughters enjoyed growing up here just as much as she did! Mary Jane’s family business is dedicated to keeping seniors and individuals with mobility issues in their homes safely with home modifications. Additionally, her experience covers work in the non-profit, insurance, retail, manufacturing, and small business sectors.

Water Commission Meetings

West Suburban Water Commission meetings are free and open to the public. The board meets at 9:30 a.m. every fourth Thursday of the month at the Water Commission Office (7000 S. Archer) unless otherwise noted here.